Coming soon!

I’m excited to announce that just yesterday I received my advance copies of Wild Goose Chase by Mark Batterson.  I expect to be able to post my review SOON!  Please notice I said I received my copies, plural.  I have two — one to read/review and one to give away.  I’ll let you know tomorrow how to enter for your chance to win.  In the meantime, check out www.chasethegoose.com to get pumped up about it.  Also, Mark Batterson has been posting “book bytes” on his blog and encouraged his readers to feel free to blog about it themselves.  So, below are some quotes from the book.  I’m so fired up!  As I mentioned before, I read A LOT of books.   Mark’s first book, In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day, is by far the BEST book I’ve EVER read.  Mark Batterson is one of the smartest, most well read individuals I’ve ever been acquainted with — and he’s so ACCESSIBLE — his writing is so PROFOUND, but it’s also EASY TO UNDERSTAND at the same time.  What a rare gift he has as a writer and speaker.  Of course, he’s humble on top of it all.  But don’t take my word for it, read the below excerpts and get fired up for yourself!  The book will be released August 19th; the best price on pre-orders is through www.amazon.com.  Chase the Goose!

FROM Wild Goose Chase: 

When we turn Christianity into a noun, it becomes a turnoff. Christianity was always intended to be a verb. And, more specifically, an action verb. Some of us live as if we expect to hear God say, “Well thought, good and faithful servant!” or “Well said, good and faithful servant!” God isn’t going to say either of those things. There is only one commendation: “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

_______

Here’s a thought that fired across my synapses not long ago: Do angels yawn? I know it seems like an inane theological question, but I seriously wonder if angels have the capacity to get bored. More importantly, I wonder if some of us are living such safe lives that not only are we bored, but so are our guardian angels.

_______

What is most lacking in the church of Jesus Christ is not education or resources. Keep learning, but we are educated way beyond the level of our obedience. And keep giving, but we do not lack the resources to alleviate poverty or fight injustice or spread the gospel. We are the most resourced church in the most resourced country the world has ever known. You what is most lacking? Good old-fashioned guts.

The will of God is not an insurance plan. It’s a daring plan. And more often than not, the will of God will involve a decision that seems unsafe or insane. Dare I suggest that the twenty-first century church needs more daring people with daring plans?

In the words of a daring twentieth century missionary, C.T. Studd: “Some want to live within the sound of church or chapel bell; I want to run a rescue shop within a yard of hell.”

The church needs more Studds! And you can quote me on that.

_______

If you would describe your relationship with God as anything less than adventurous, then maybe you think you’re following the Spirit, but you have settled for something less–something I call inverted Christianity. Instead of following the Spirit, we invite the Spirit to follow us. Instead of serving God’s purposes, we want Him to serve ours. And while this may seem like a subtle distinction, it makes an ocean of difference. The result of this inverted relationship with God is not just a self-absorbed spirituality that leaves us feeling empty; it’s also the difference between spiritual boredom and spiritual adventure.

Leave a Reply

