Why don’t people care?!

I recently went to a couple of movies that were about big, social issues.  They were meant to be moving, inspiring, to incite change and to make you think.  I fought back tears and outrage more than once.  Each time I left the movie theatre, I was somber, sullen, and so was my husband.  Of course, part of him was moved by the movies and part of him, I think, was just awaiting the diatribe he knew was going to come from me!  ;-P 

What blew me away was that everyone else — I mean everyone — left the movie theatres laughing and joking as if they’d been entertained and now were on to their next event.  We didn’t overhear one single conversation about the issues raised in each movie. 

How can people watch and hear suffering and not be moved?  Why don’t people care?

Sometimes I get tired of carrying the burden I feel for the issues that matter to me (and most other issues as well).  But if the alternative is to walk blindly and blithely through life without any compassion, well, then I’ll carry my burden no matter how heavy it becomes.

1 Comment »

  1. Carol said

    Mairead Maguire:
    We frail humans are at one time capable of the greatest good and, at the same time, capable of the greatest evil. Change will only come about when each of us takes up the daily struggle ourselves to be more forgiving, compassionate, loving, and above all joyful in the knowledge that, by some miracle of grace, we can change as those around us can change too.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

