Living Life without Regrets

I’m not even remotely afraid of dying.  (Some days when this world is far too cruel and hard, I even look forward to it!)  But what terrifies me is getting to my deathbed with regrets. 

I have a list of things to do before I die.  Some of them I’ve already achieved:  skydiving from 13,000 feet, twice!  People asked me if I was afraid to die.  “What if your parachute doesn’t open?”  My response was that I would rather die doing something I really wanted to do than live long enough to regret not doing it. 

The #1 thing left on my list:  to go to Africa on an animal safari.  Several years ago I even picked out the exact tour I want to do with World Wildlife Fund. 

There are big things on my list and small things on my list.   Some are silly.  Some are scary.  Some are BHAGs (the Big Hairy Audacious Goals discussed by James Collins and Jerry Porras in their 1996 article entitled Building Your Company’s Vision and their book Built to Last: Successful Habits of Visionary Companies.)  Some of the things on my list are things that almost everyone who knows me knows I want to do.  Some I don’t even dare whisper aloud to myself at 2:00 a.m. lying in the dark in bed.

Everyone should keep such a list.  I started mine when I was about 10 years old, long before The Bucket List was released.  (Great movie, by the way.)  The list has changed and evolved.  In fact, one of my very first goals (a small one, but big for a 10 year old) was that I wanted to eat a hot dog from a street vendor cart in New York City.  I’d seen it on TV so many times; I wanted to experience it.  But unless I can find one selling soydogs (not entirely impossible, but unlikely), one of the very first things to ever go on my list will never be achieved. 

So what are some of your “I want to do _________ before I die” goals?  Click the comments button and share.  Who knows, I might steal an idea or two from you!

Leave a Reply

