Here’s an Opportunity to Help Save the Environment, Alleviate World Hunger and Prevent Animal Cruelty — And it Tastes Good, Too!

As many of you know, I’m a vegan. A vegan is a “strict vegetarian” who doesn’t eat any animal products. In addition to not eating meat or fish (vegetarian), I also don’t eat eggs, dairy products and honey. I also don’t wear animal products including silk.

A 1992 market research study conducted by the Yankelovich research organization found that 12.4 million people call themselves vegetarians and the numbers are growing every year. Reasons for being vegetarian or vegan are various: animal cruelty, improving the environment, health benefits, cultural and religious reasons, personal taste are just a few.

Why am I a vegan? First and foremost, animal rights. I’m an animal “nut”, not doubt about it. I won’t barrage you with details of animal cruelty stories and depictions of factory farming practices. Suffice it to say that if every American could see for themselves what we do to the animals we eat, NO ONE could or would eat meat again. Secondly, I am a vegan because I care for the environment. 70% of all the grain produced in America goes to feed livestock and the United States consumes 5 times more grain than the rest of the world. If the grain used to feed U.S. livestock for slaughter were consumed directly by people, 800 million people could eat. If we exported that grain, we would gain $80 billion dollars a year. Gandhi said, “I live simply so that others might simply live.” I have never been healthier. Any doctor will tell you it’s the healthiest diet and the American Diabetic Association has shown that diabetics can dramatically improve and even eliminate the effects of their disease with a vegan diet. You’d be surprised the number of professional and Olympic athletes who are vegans and credit their superior performance to their diet. Finally, I have never eaten better food in my life. My mom is a fabulous cook and I have caught the bug from her. While we thought our recipe collection was one of the best, when we became vegans, we learned what truly good food tastes like. We have NEVER, EVER eaten food so good as the vegan recipes we’ve found.

October is National Vegetarian Awareness Month. Any vegan will tell you: our goal is to end suffering. Suffering of animals, suffering of world starvation. And while we’d love it if everyone on the planet were vegans, we’re tickled if anyone simply adds one vegetarian meal to their diet they otherwise wouldn’t eat. Even a little difference is a difference. I can’t wait until October to promote one of the issues closest to my heart, so over the next week or two, I’m going to provide you with some of my favorite vegan resources. I’m going to provide you with some of our own personal recipes. I’ve chosen to share recipes that don’t require any special ingredients. I’ll also share favorite websites for recipes, lists of companies selling grooming products that don’t conduct animal testing, and other materials that might be helpful. Remember, just adding one vegan or vegetarian meal a week makes a huge difference. If you don’t do it for any other reason, think about your own pocketbook. Grocery prices are constantly rising and unless you choose recipes with exotic ingredients, meatless meals are considerably cheaper!

P.S. Don’t forget to send your name and address to: seewhykinsman@yahoo.com to register to win a free copy of Nancy Twigg’s book, From Clutter to Clarity: Simplifying Life from the Inside Out. The drawing will be next Wednesday.

1 Comment »

  1. hy, Do something for help the hungry people in Africa and India,
    I made this blog about this subject:
    on http://tinyurl.com/5hu74e

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

