Are You Producing Fruit?

fruitYesterday I shared with you some thoughts about translating your spiritual knowledge into action, whether by outwardly doing, or inwardly changing.  Lest you think I’m just picking on you, I wanted to share with you a spiritual correction I received this past weekend.

I was thinking of the fruit of the the Spirit:  love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-23).  I used to think these were GIFTS of the Spirit and, in fact, spent a good deal of time asking God to give them to me.  Then, I spend a good deal of time praying for just one — any one — I wasn’t picky and in dire need of all of them.  Then I realized they’re spiritual disciplines, not gifts handed out when you become a believer.  Hrumpf!  😦   It makes sense, doesn’t it?  If you receive the Holy Spirit when you become a believer, shouldn’t you receive the fruit of the Holy Spirit as well?!  Oh, if only it were so!

So this weekend I was thinking of the fruit of the Spirit and I was asking God complaining to God about the fact that they ARE disciplines and, quite frankly, I’m not very disciplined.  At least not where it comes to love, patience, kindness, gentleness, etc., etc.  And do you know what God said in response?  I’m not kidding!  He said, in a not-so-gentle voice, “Yeah, you’re right.  And remember what I do with branches that don’t produce fruit?  I cut them off!” 

Well!  That just goes to show you a few things:  (1) God really does have a “wicked” sense of humor.  At least I think He was kidding.  At least I hope so.  (2) I’m not dispensing any advice to you that I don’t need at least twice as badly as you do.  (3) God doesn’t always speak in a still, small voice.  Sometimes He hits the ass with a jawbone.  Or something to that effect!  😉  More on this final point tomorrow.

In the meantime, think about the fruit of the Spirit and how your harvest is going.

__________

BOOK GIVEAWAY:

Don’t forget to send your name and mailing address to seewhykinsman@yahoo.com to register for Me, Myself and I AM. TWO winners will be drawn at random this Friday, November 7th. I’ll DOUBLE your changes of winning by entering your name TWICE in the drawing if you provide the answer to this question (which appears on p. 22) in your e-mail: If my life BEFORE I became a believer were a movie, the best title(s) to describe it would be ______________. Some proposed answers the books gives are: Animal House, Some Like It Hot, Heaven Can Wait, Rocky, It’s a Wonderful Life, Do the Right Thing. I’ll post the answers I get WITHOUT revealing your names on this blog.

1 Comment »

  1. Stephanie said

    What are you talking about!?! You are full of love and you ARE one of the sweetest, kindest, most giving people I know.

    I love you!:)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

