Giving Thanks

71e54931f2f47f14Hopefully you all had a great Thanksgiving (or, at our house, “No Turkey Day!”) which focused more on thankfulness and less on food.  We are so blessed in this country; the last thing we need to do is stuff ourselves with more food — or stuff, for that matter.  Greed and gluttony are sins.  This is something we are loathe to remember in the United States, especially during the holidays, which is why I’m going to focus on thankfulness, charity and GIVING as we continue through this holiday season. 

I would like to start by encouraging you to join the 29 Day Giving Challenge.  You can read more about it here:

http://29gifts.org/

Basically, you find a way to give something every day for 29 days.  You can share your stories on the 29gifts website, but I’d love it if you’d e-mail me your stories as well (seewhykinsman@yahoo.com).  Remember, you don’t always have to give THINGS that cost money.  You may also give your TIME, TALENT, and RESOURCES.  Maybe you give away something you buy, but maybe you give away something you already own, but no longer need.  You benefit from less clutter, stress and mess while blessing someone else.  Just remember, no one wants your JUNK.  So many people only give items they can’t otherwise sell.  Any item you give away should be something you would be GLAD to RECEIVE in its AS IS condition.  Maybe you give the gift of forgiveness, maybe you call someone with whom you’ve lost touch, maybe you connect with a stranger who seems to be in need of an encouraging word.

Are you up to the challenge?  I can promise you’ll be more BLESSED by accepting the challenge than anyone you bless as a result.  You’ll likely find it’s so easy and enjoyable to give that you’ll want to carry on beyond the initial 29 days.  Go on!  I dare you!

1 Comment »

  1. lyndy said

    I find it fun to give at the stores. The day before Thanksgiving while the checkouts were packed… I noticed an elderly man with just three or four items. The check-out next to where I was in line opened so I pushed my cart to the enterance… I then went to the man and lead him to the empty checkout. After he was checked out and thanked me the man also added that he had many times given his place in line to someone in his life and that this was the first time anyone gave him this gift.
    Today at the food store, I had just begun checking out (a large order) there were no other checkouts open(5am). A man came and stood behind me with one item (a pair of work gloves) Since my order was partically finished I asked him if he minded if the clerk would scan his gloves with my order, he looked puzzled but said that it would be fine. The clerk scanned them and I handed them back to him and told him to have a great day. He seemed surprized, but left the store with a smile.
    A little bit of kindness goes a long way. My mother-in-law always said to put something on the ‘todo’ list for myself (something fun). I always try to do something for someone else. Even if it’s to let them have my place in line

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

