Keeping Gift Giving at a Reasonable Minimum

It’s hard during the holidays to keep children’s expectations (greed levels) down.  A couple weeks ago, I was reading a blog I occasionally visit and found this tip:

My mom started this, and now my husband and I’ve adopted it. We give each other 4 gifts, according to the categories of this little poem: “Something you want, something you need, something to play with, something to read.” 

I love that idea and believe it would work for birthdays as well.  Now that I think about it, that’s pretty much what my parents did without articulating it.  I usually had about 7 presents to open, but one was a big thing I wanted, several were practical items I needed, and probably one or two were something small to “play with”.  Books were something I got in plenty all year around . . . from the library.  It’s only been in recent years that I’ve purchased books on amazon.com that I can’t get from the library.  The good news is I can buy them used and resell them or donate them to the library when I’m done.  Ah, the internet is a many splendid thing!

Anyway, here is the link to the above-tip if you want to read it in more detail. 

(http://watibg.blogspot.com/2007/12/7-things-christmas-version.html)

GIVEAWAY:  Remember enter this week’s drawing for a free copy of Living Rich for Less by Ellie Kay. Please e-mail your name and mailing address to seewhykinsman@yahoo.com to be entered in the random drawing this Friday, December 19th. Good luck!

1 Comment »

  1. novice101 said

    Good advice on how to give. Giving also needs to be done with wisdom.
    Is giving also an act of compassion?

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2008/12/08/1728/

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

